Building Safety Department

Purpose

The Building Department's purpose is to protect the public health, safety and welfare in all new and existing structures, residential and commercial, and on all existing premises by enforcing minimum code requirements.

Responsibilities

Provisions of these codes relate to plumbing, electrical, mechanical, life safety and safety from fire and other hazards. Various activities of the Building Department include:

  • Conducting inspections of new commercial and residential construction including, alterations, additions and detached accessory buildings
  • Educating the public concerning safety, health and welfare in the building environment
  • Issuing building and various related trade permits
  • Processing of permit applications for all types of construction
  • Providing assistance to developers, contractors and citizens relating to building code requirements
  • Regulating the occupancy of existing structures and premises and helps to evaluate requirements based on use and occupancy type
  • Reviewing of commercial and residential construction plans

Inspections

Inspections must be called in prior to 7:30 a.m. for same day inspection. Inspections called in after 7:30 a.m. will be scheduled the following day.

To request an inspection, call the number for each inspector. View the list of inspections staff. Customers are encouraged to complete our online customer satisfaction survey to help us provide the best possible service.

No Inspections Will Occur On City Observed Holiday's:

Date
Thu, November 22, 2018
Fri, November 23, 2018
Mon, December 24, 2018
Tue, December 25, 2018
Tue, January 1, 2019
Mon, January 21, 2019
Mon, February 18, 2019
Mon, May 27, 2019
Thu, July 4, 2019
Mon, September 2, 2019
Mon, November 11, 2019
Mon, November 28, 2019
Tue, December  24, 2019
Wed, December 25, 2019